Vijana Yoga 

Vijñāna Yoga stems from the yogic tradition of northern India, as taught by Sri Krishnamacharya, the teacher of Pattabhi Jois, B.K.S. Iyengar and T.K.V. Desikachar. Having studied briefly with Pattabhi Jois and B.K.S. Iyengar, Orit Sen-Gupta practiced for twelve years with Dona Holleman, a long time student of B.K.S. Iyengar. Integrating Dona′s deep understanding of the body with the practice of meditation, pranayama and the study of yogic texts, Orit together with a group of experienced teachers founded Vijñāna Yoga in 2003.


The four main practices of Vijñāna Yoga

  1. The Seven Vital Principles are guidelines for the asana practice. Through them we adhere to the skeletal lines and thus find our true alignment.

  2. The extensive practice of pranayama utilizes the natural breath in a unique way. By practicing the vayus, we gradually master the classical pranayama forms.

  3. "Just sitting" meditation inspires deep listening, which is the ground for vijñāna (understanding from inside).

  4. The study of yogic texts integrates our intuitions and understanding into a more comprehensive view of life and our path in it.


The origin of the term vijñāna

According to the great Vedantist philosopher Sankara, vijñāna is a deep understanding or knowing that cannot come about merely through outer knowledge. Even the knowledge expounded by our teachers and the inspiration we receive from spiritual texts is not enough. Vijñāna is when inner clarity is revealed through personal experience. Ramakrishna explains vijñāna thus: "The awareness and conviction that fire exists in wood is jana (knowledge). But to cook rice on that fire, eat the rice and get nourishment from it is vijñāna."


Seven Vital Principles


Relaxing the body • Quieting the mind • Intent

~ Relax the body. Wherever there is gripping or tension - relax.
The mind is looking at the body with a parental eye. In this quiet observation the body will by itself, unfold and unwind, gradually allowing air and space to come back into the tense areas.

~The eyes look inward to catch the inner mood, the state of mind.
We observe our moods from an inner silence. Letting go of its activities, it sinks into a deeper state and becomes empty.

~The mind directs itself to the practice; the body awaits the practice; the heart embraces the practice...
Each inhalation is an intensification of intent, with each exhalation comes the sharpening of its direction... With each breath, with each pose we reaffirm our intent.

Rooting • Connecting • Breathing • Elongating

~The mind rests at the place where the body touches the earth.
As the roots of a tree deepen and widen into the earth, so the branches above expand into the sky.

~Like a chain floating in space, the rings that make up the chain never touch each other.
The more each part is distinct, the more the connection between them remains steady - The body in any situation moves in oneness.

~Inhale - go deep within: exhale - connect to the world. Inhale - accept what is; exhale - give yourself to the earth.

~When elongating and widening occur, not one ring touches another as the chain called body moves in space.


References and more information: